GS - 1st Gen (1993-1997) Discussion about the first generation GS300

Picked up a super clean 1994 GS.

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-16, 07:33 PM
lildann
Driver

Received 21 Likes on 15 Posts
Default Picked up a super clean 1994 GS.

Just thought I'd share my newest project. I currently have a 2004 LS430 UL and my wife has a 2015 GS350. Both are bagged with custom wood trunks and air suspension. My wife got transferred to Atlanta for work and the roads suck down there. Plus, with full custom trunks, we didn't have a trip car for us and our kids. So I started looking around for an inexpensive, reliable, comfortable car. Good luck with that! After looking at a few junky cars I was about to give up. I'm a Lexus Master Tech so I'm biased towards Toyota and Lexus. I found a first generation GS that had blown the radiator and the guy had driven it till it shut off. It needed a motor and he didn't want to put the money into fixing it.

Clean 1994 GS300

I was able to purchase it and went on the hunt for a new engine. I did a compression check on the old engine and found 25 psi on cylinder #1 and 0 psi on cylinder #2. I didn't go any further because I knew it would need costly machine work. I found a used engine from a friend of a friend that has done a turbo swap because his car had slightly overheated and he used that as an excuse to go all out and get a 2JZGTTE. I got it at a good price because it had been sitting for 2.5 years and it had been slightly overheated. So I got it on a stand and took it apart for cleaning and inspection.

Torn down

Dirty valves

Dirty pistons

Then I cleaned everything and started reassembling with new rings, seals and gaskets.

Clean head

Lapped in valves

Clean pistons with new, OEM rings

New, OEM valve stem seals

Almost fully assembled head

Block cleaned up and pistons and rings installed. With new water pump and timing set.

Making progress

Fully assembled engine with all accessories and wiring harness on.