JZS147 swap thread - Page 4 - ClubLexus - Lexus Forum Discussion


GS - 1st Gen (1993-1997) Discussion about the first generation GS300

JZS147 swap thread

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-16-07, 10:17 PM   #46
jtamulis
Pole Position
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 344
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

they should be the same. but when in doubt get th eone for the Aristo.

Jeff
jtamulis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-07, 09:20 AM   #47
cacrawfo
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 70
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

TR Lexi,
I don't think it will much matter, they should both have the same packaging, but the turbo mount may have stiffer rubber?

12371-46120 is the Supra MKIV TT mount
12371-46020 is the Supra MKIV NA mount, and also the SC300/400 mount.


Carl C
cacrawfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-07, 10:31 AM   #48
TRLexi300
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SC
Posts: 88
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cacrawfo View Post
TR Lexi,
I don't think it will much matter, they should both have the same packaging, but the turbo mount may have stiffer rubber?

12371-46120 is the Supra MKIV TT mount
12371-46020 is the Supra MKIV NA mount, and also the SC300/400 mount.


Carl C
Thanks, I appreciate the info.
TRLexi300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-07, 11:56 AM   #49
Aristo-cat
Driver
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 168
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

question about the ECU,

do we have to use the Aristo ECU or can the stock 2JZGE one work?
Aristo-cat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-07, 12:29 PM   #50
twojayzee
Lexus Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Emerald City
Posts: 1,996
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aristo-cat View Post
question about the ECU,

do we have to use the Aristo ECU or can the stock 2JZGE one work?
Need to use the aristo ecu. The GE one doesnt know what to do with boost, fuel or timing.
twojayzee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-07, 12:31 PM   #51
Aristo-cat
Driver
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 168
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

how about a Supra MKIV ECU?
Aristo-cat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-07, 12:34 PM   #52
twojayzee
Lexus Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Emerald City
Posts: 1,996
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aristo-cat View Post
how about a Supra MKIV ECU?
Not unless you rewire the car and engine harness with one from a mkiv
twojayzee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-07, 12:43 PM   #53
Aristo-cat
Driver
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 168
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

This is good info to know. Thanks alot!
Aristo-cat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-07, 12:45 PM   #54
twojayzee
Lexus Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Emerald City
Posts: 1,996
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aristo-cat View Post
This is good info to know. Thanks alot!
Your welcome. Can you not find an aristo ecu ? They are dirt cheap everywhere and almost all of the motor sets come with one.
twojayzee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-07, 08:58 AM   #55
Aristo-cat
Driver
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 168
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

no, I found a motor set cheap by my place, but it doesn't come with an ECU. I just wanted to see how hard it would be to source one out and if I couldn't what were my options. I plan on doing the swap next year, but i like to have all the facts before i get in the dirty.
Aristo-cat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-07, 09:55 AM   #56
twojayzee
Lexus Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Emerald City
Posts: 1,996
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aristo-cat View Post
no, I found a motor set cheap by my place, but it doesn't come with an ECU. I just wanted to see how hard it would be to source one out and if I couldn't what were my options. I plan on doing the swap next year, but i like to have all the facts before i get in the dirty.
Theres ecu's on fleebay for under 200bux usually. I dont know how cheap that motor is locally but you can get complete motor sets on fleebay for 1600 now days. Motor, auto trans and ecu.
twojayzee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-07, 10:41 AM   #57
gompka
Lexus Test Driver
iTrader: (6)
 
gompka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 929
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaiser View Post
9. If you donít have an Aristo drive shaft you may need to swap the 3 pronged bracket off your GE trans to the GTE trans to use your GS driveshaft. If the rubber coupling between the trans and shaft is cracking, replace it. It will destroy itself under more torque if itís already dry. Check the rear rubber coupling at the diff while youíre at it. $250 a piece.
I went to take a look at an aristo engine at the local place and it has a 3 pronged bracket on the end and as far as i know the gs has a 3 proged driveshaft (at least at the end it connects to the diff).

Also if you getting an engine without one you need a supra ignitor
gompka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-07, 11:32 AM   #58
Kaiser
Lexus Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Kaiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,830
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

They all have 3 prongs. They don't both line up correctly.
Kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-07, 12:20 PM   #59
Aristo-cat
Driver
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 168
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

wow, so we can't use the stock tranny either?


What if we find a manual motor set? Other then running the lines and clutch assembly, is there any additional stuff we need to do?
Aristo-cat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-07, 01:12 PM   #60
Kaiser
Lexus Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Kaiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,830
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

There is no manual Aristo unless it has been swapped so no worries on that one. The Aristo trans can be identified by J3 stamped on the bell housing. The GS300 is a J2. The J2 can not handle the power that the J3 can. The Aristo ECU and J2 trans are likely not to shift properly.
Kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MD 2002 Lexus GS300 Sport Design Twin Turbo (2JZ-GTE VVT-I) Ė THIS IS THE ONE!!! MyAristo Lexus Vehicles Classifieds 31 12-13-16 08:00 PM
Instructions: Complete 100% trans flush with filter change LoneHiker GX - 1st Gen (2004-2009) 25 11-26-16 01:33 PM
DIY AC Compressor and Condenser/Drier replacement dcz GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) 52 04-18-16 05:24 AM
Community Input - RC-F Rebuild and Mods! detinater Build Threads 6 04-08-16 07:36 PM
SC430 S & S Header Install Lexiss_sc430 SC430 - 2nd Gen (2001-2010) 19 03-07-11 06:34 AM


Tags
300 , aristo , drive , exterior , fuel , gs , jdm , jzs147 , lexus , nat , parts , pinout , pump , shaft , supra , swap , vip

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:37 AM.


Copyright © 2000-2017 Internet Brands, Inc. All Rights Reserved
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: