ES - 6th Gen (2013-2018) Discussion topics related to 2013+ ES models

sealed transmission

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-17, 07:02 PM
bc6152
Lead Lap

Received 1,236 Likes on 868 Posts

Originally Posted by Maikerusan
I have been driving cars for over 40 years. Zero transmission failures in all those years and zero transmission repairs.

Did I change fluids religiously? No (except on manual transmission cars).

I really feel some of you are seriously overdoing it with this 20K miles transmission fluid change. Even in the old days under severe conditions, they did not recommend that.
And I've been driving cars for over 50 years without any tranny issues. Dodges, Ramblers, Fords, Mitsubishis, Hondas, and never an issue and never an auto trans fluid or filter change. I agree Maikerusan that this is pure hype and overkill. The only trans oil I ever changed was on my 1931 Ford with 800W oil. I'm doing what Lexus recommends and have faith that the car will run just fine... No trans fluid changes on my car...
The following users liked this post:
jollick (01-01-18)
Old 12-30-17, 04:36 AM
hisstojay
Pole Position

Received 14 Likes on 12 Posts

Originally Posted by bc6152
And I've been driving cars for over 50 years without any tranny issues. Dodges, Ramblers, Fords, Mitsubishis, Hondas, and never an issue and never an auto trans fluid or filter change. I agree Maikerusan that this is pure hype and overkill. The only trans oil I ever changed was on my 1931 Ford with 800W oil. I'm doing what Lexus recommends and have faith that the car will run just fine... No trans fluid changes on my car...
Wishing you good luck.....
Old 12-30-17, 07:34 AM
Mike728
Lead Lap

Received 614 Likes on 462 Posts

Originally Posted by hisstojay
Wishing you good luck.....
From what I've seen on the forums, you're the one that may need the luck. Changing your tranny fluid when it's not a recommended service, will void your transmission warranty. So, good luck!
Old 12-30-17, 02:22 PM
Tetguy
Driver