ES - 6th Gen (2013-2018) Discussion topics related to 2013+ ES models

Tire Noise GS, ES & LS ??

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-15, 06:16 AM
kellens
Pole Position

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Tire Noise GS, ES & LS ??

I noticed when completing a number of test drives of several Lexus' (or Lexi) how immensely sensitive all 3 are, especially the ES, to different tires. The cars are so very quiet, but seems to amplify any road surface changes more than other makes of car, even other quiet cars, of less expense. I'm no engineer. Any idea why Lexus is so sensitive to tire selection and noise, and anything that will temper it?
Old 11-04-15, 07:55 AM
jollick
Racer

Received 173 Likes on 151 Posts

1st - I believe it is due to the car's quietness that we notice it more.
2nd - The dealers tend to over inflate the tires. If you can, be sure to check them before the test drive and make sure they are at the specified amount on the label located on the driver's door. It makes a difference in ride and noise.
Old 11-04-15, 10:19 AM
SW17LS
Lexus Fanatic

Received 2,500 Likes on 1,803 Posts

Tires are very important to how a Lexus rides and the noise level you get, always has been that way.

What tempers it is making sure you always run the quietest riding tires available.
Old 11-04-15, 10:31 AM
kellens
Pole Position

Originally Posted by SW15LS
Tires are very important to how a Lexus rides and the noise level you get, always has been that way.

What tempers it is making sure you always run the quietest riding tires available.
So true, not sure why Lexus is so 'tire sensitive' though. Other reply might have some of a point that the car's quiet to begin with. The Lexus' on a not super quiet tires make a Chevy Aveo seem quiet though. Odd.

MXV4 going away, not a lot of quiet options out there. CR doesn't have any "excellent" low noise tires any more. Didn't know if any other way to make the car less noise sensitive to tire/road surface.

Thanks for everyone's insights.