ES - 6th Gen (2013-2018) Discussion topics related to 2013+ ES models

Turn off the display & other annoying quirks

Old 01-31-18, 08:19 AM
chalasani
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry Turn off the display & other annoying quirks

Hello.... a noob here to this forum. Tried searching the forum but could not find an answer

Model: 2107 ES 350 with Nav...before I get into my rant, the Ride is phenomenal and second to none!... now why this vehicle drive me up the wall!!!

1) On the screen, there is a "Display" button with an option to turn it off. However, looks the dealer reprogrammed the button to show their Dealership (Meade Lexus of Southfield, MI) instead. So in essence, I have a glaring screen, which defeats the purpose of "TURN OFF THE DISPLAY"... shame on the dealership for their self promo, just pi$$e$ me off. Any way to bypass their JPG/picture file and make it "blank" or if i really want, can i upload a custom JPG of my choosing?

2) Having driven a Lincoln the past couple of years, why do I feel that the Lincoln menu controls were much more user friendly and intuitive than Lexus? e.g. every time you press the "return arrow", you dont know if its going to take you the HOME screen or the PREV screen... simply stupid. When playing a channel and you pick "INFO", and you want to go back to the channel list, why does it take you to the TOP of the channel list all over again as opposed to where you just left off... PLEASE help if there is way around this... driving me bonkers!

3) Trying to find Navigation through web search is useless... why cant I use the voice command when searching for destinations... I can only type in the the destination search when I am stopped.....another "I dont know what they were thinking as they designed this".... Am I missing something on this?

Swear to god, one of these days I'll feel like taking a sledge hammer to the whole enform system!... totally frustrated user
Old 01-31-18, 11:17 AM
JDR76
Lexus Champion