ES - 6th Gen (2013-2018) Discussion topics related to 2013+ ES models

Did anyone cross-shop an Avalon/Impala with the ES?

Search this Thread

Old 12-14-16, 07:04 AM
Wandl
Lexus Test Driver

Received 73 Likes on 51 Posts
Default Did anyone cross-shop an Avalon/Impala with the ES?

Background:
I work in sales and currently own a 2010 LS460. With a new territory next year that requires more time on the road, I'm entertaining the idea of getting a 2nd car that gets better gas mileage. Chances are, I'll probably keep my LS to keep the wife happy because she hates seeing me spend $$ on cars. But for fun's sake, with a budget of around $20-$24k I'm considering:
2013 ES300h/ES350
2013 Avalon/Avalon Hybrid
2014+ new-body-style Impala

Things that are near and dear to my heart = supple ride, noise insulation, reliability in that order. And with this vehicle, solid MPG obviously.

Why hybrid? After looking at some prices, the ES300h/Avalon Hybrid don't cost too much more than the 3.5L V6 gas counterparts.
Why Impala? Rented a 15 new-body-style LTZ for a week in Virginia, it drove wonderful! The new Impala uses the same chassis as the XTS and Lacrosse, got rave reviews and really changed my thinking on Chevy. Reliability is actually decent with a low cost of ownership/cost of repair as well.

SOOOOOO....my question to you ES350/ES300h owners, did you cross shop the Avalon and/or Impala before you bought your ES? What were your thoughts?

Last edited by Wandl; 12-14-16 at 07:08 AM.
Old 12-14-16, 07:48 AM
Maljunulo
Rookie

Received 10 Likes on 7 Posts

I wouldn't buy any domestic automobile, but that's just me.
Old 12-14-16, 08:33 AM
Mike728
Lead Lap

Received 614 Likes on 462 Posts

I cross shopped the Avalon. The interior design and seat comfort were what steered me away from it. The redesigned Impalla wasn't available at the time, but I test drove a LaCrosse. It was not in the same league.
Old 12-14-16, 08:57 AM
mjeds
Lexus Champion

Received 188 Likes on 145 Posts