ES - 1st to 4th Gen (1990-2006) Forum for all 1990 - 2006 ES300 and ES330 models. ES250 topics go here as well.

My newish ES300

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-15, 05:11 AM
Vinnnocc
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My newish ES300

Hey all
I'm new to Lexus
I will be getting my grandfathers 2001 ES300 he was the second owner two old guys drove the car it's whole life.

Car has 188k
leaking powersteering fluid from the power steering rack where the bolts go
Other then that she runs great and rides smooth.

Anything I should be concerned about?
Anything I should look at ?
Old 10-14-15, 07:07 AM
JetsonES
Lead Lap

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Nice looking car, I like the color combination. I would just make sure your fluids are not too old and replace them if you don't know. Make sure your pcv valve is fresh as that is a known issue which causes these engines to build sludge. You may also want to check when the timing belt was last done. Same goes with the fuel filter.

One thing I would do right off the bat is known as the "Big 3 upgrade" . It consists of replacing three wires in your car with heavier units. So far I have only done the battery negative terminal to chassis wire but it helped the car out a lot with idling, air conditioning, etc.

Check out all the rubber components in the suspension and under the hood to make sure nothing is getting brittle or torn. Under the hood, it helps to remove the engine cover, there are a lot of vacuum lines under there that can fail over time. A good way to check your suspension is one corner at a time and when you first get the tire off the ground try to rock it back and forth or up and down to check for any play.