ES - 1st to 4th Gen (1990-2006) Forum for all 1990 - 2006 ES300 and ES330 models. ES250 topics go here as well.

What's wrong with my car?

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-12, 10:43 PM
innes
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What's wrong with my car?

Hello everyone! I'm a college student right now and I've been having problems with my car and was wondering if anyone would be able to help me out-

A couple weeks ago I was about to take a road trip back home to find my car completely dead- power locks didn't even work not to mention any lights or stereo equipment. Thankfully, I was able to call the university police and they brought a mobile battery jumper and I was off and running.

However a week or so later, my car died again (stereo equipment/lights still worked though) and while I was able to jump it again, every time afterwards the car seemed to take longer to crank and turnover. I then had to jump it a couple more times until yesterday night when the car now won't even start at all.

Instead of attempting to crank, the car just stays silent- odd, since the headlights, interior lights, and stereo still work. I tried using the jumper pack and left it hooked up for an hour or so, but the car still won't turn over. Do I need to get my car towed to an auto shop?

P.S: I live in a warm weather climate in case that's helpful at all
Old 01-29-12, 01:19 AM
Hayk
Lead Lap

Received 291 Likes on 230 Posts

Your battery is dead, and I suspect that you have a parasitic draw on the system. What that means is that even when the car is off, there is something that keeps draining the battery. You will definitely need to replace the battery, but also have the car looked at so that you won't have to keep buying new batteries.
Old 01-29-12, 02:03 AM
paperboy42
Driver School Candidate