ES - 1st to 4th Gen (1990-2006) Forum for all 1990 - 2006 ES300 and ES330 models. ES250 topics go here as well.

Timing Belt - How to compare costs, Where (San Jose / San Francisco Bay Area, CA)

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-12, 04:18 PM
cl0112
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry Timing Belt - How to compare costs, Where (San Jose / San Francisco Bay Area, CA)

Hi,

I am not an experienced mechanic - simply an average worker with average income. So, I am looking for reasonable service price.

My 2005 Lexus ES 330 is hitting 90K miles and I need to do the timing belt change.

Could anyone recommend:

1. What are the line items I need to ask for, when asking for a quote:
( Presently I am planning to ask for timing belt + water pump -- although the manual only states "Replace Timing Belt")

2. Approximate / fair reasonable cost
3. Where should I change the timing belt? Toyota dealers in San Francisco / San Jose Bay Area?

--------------------------------------------------------------------
Some of the stuffs I found from this forum : (Maybe useful for other people looking for timing belt service)
-------------------------------------------------------------------
I had mine done at the Toyota dealer last year. $800.00 for the timing belt, accessory drive belts, water pump, main oil seal, cam seal, and thermostat. I was going to change the belt tensioner too, but the dealer said it was still good. It's cheaper to bundle as many preventive maintenance services as you can at once.

Was quoted $429 for Timing belt & Water pump change at local Toyota dealership...
includes labor fees and parts.

Does that $429.00 price include the following?

Timing Belt
Tensioner Shaft
Timing Belt Idler Bearing Lower #1
Timing Belt Idler Bearing Upper #2
Timing Belt Tensioner
Water Pump
Water Pump Gasket
Thermostat

Did it on my 01 ES last week. $750 for a completed package:
- Timing belt.
- water pump
- All accessory drive belts.