ES - 1st to 4th Gen (1990-2006) Forum for all 1990 - 2006 ES300 and ES330 models. ES250 topics go here as well.

did a tune up, car is still shaking & cylinder #2 misfire.

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-11, 06:58 PM
ayroman
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Wink did a tune up, car is still shaking & cylinder #2 misfire.

I have changed all 6 spark plugs and wires on my e300 1998. The car started running as new, a week later -my car starts to shake again, and an engine light pops up and reads "cylinder 2 misfire." My mechanic recommends to change the ignition coil on cylinder #2.
i am a student and try to save $$ on everything.
Is this the most probable cause? if so, how hard is it if i tried to change the coil by myself? where is cylinder #2?
thx you very much.
Old 02-06-11, 02:02 AM
Parker Gen
Lexus Test Driver

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Your mechanic is going through the cheapest options for you already. Do a ignition coil change after you check your distributor rotor cap, and distributor button. If non of this is the problem, turn your car on, when it starts shaking the engine, push the accelerator down and get someone to look at your exhaust. If any white smoke is coming out, you probably need to do a head-gasket change.
Old 02-06-11, 03:48 AM
MikeLex
Lead Lap

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Originally Posted by Parker Gen
Your mechanic is going through the cheapest options for you already. Do a ignition coil change after you check your distributor rotor cap, and distributor button. If non of this is the problem, turn your car on, when it starts shaking the engine, push the accelerator down and get someone to look at your exhaust. If any white smoke is coming out, you probably need to do a head-gasket change.
Distributor rotor cap, distributor button? The 98 ES engine is a distributorless system.

Here is the cylinder (coils) numbering:

F I R E W A L L

(Bank 1) 1 3 5

(Bank 2) 2 4 6

R A D I A T O R