ES - 1st to 4th Gen (1990-2006) Forum for all 1990 - 2006 ES300 and ES330 models. ES250 topics go here as well.

87 vs 91 unleaded fuel switch

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-10, 04:02 PM
msdelexus
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 87 vs 91 unleaded fuel switch

Hi,

I've been using premium fuel eversince I had my 2003 es300.
My son often times uses the car and puts in regular fuel.
Will I have problems with the car's performance if I switch to regular grade fuel at this time? My es300 has about 85k miles.
Thanks!
Old 06-20-10, 06:14 PM
GSteg
Rookie

Received 78 Likes on 60 Posts

You shouldn't have any problem. The engine was designed to run on 87 octane anyways.
Old 06-20-10, 06:25 PM
xspsi6
Lexus Champion

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Yes running premium on an engine that was ment to run on 87 could do long term damage due to exsessive carbon build up and the slower burn times of premum will actually decrease performance and increase emissions.
Old 06-20-10, 07:51 PM
JamesBond1
Pit Crew

Originally Posted by xspsi6
Yes running premium on an engine that was ment to run on 87 could do long term damage due to exsessive carbon build up and the slower burn times of premum will actually decrease performance and increase emissions.
Wow, everything you just said is wrong. You should read up on things before you start typing.
Old 06-20-10, 08:46 PM
xspsi6
Lexus Champion

Cool thanks for telling me I am wrong, I tune cars for a living so I guess I better go figure out wtf I am doing first.

So should I put 87 in my 600whp supra then? Please let me know because you seem to know it all!
Old 06-21-10, 10:03 AM
JamesBond1
Pit Crew