Digital Photography Discuss how to take the best digital photos of your Lexus & other subjects

5DMkIV impressions (oh and pics)

Old 11-06-16, 08:56 AM
bitkahuna
resisting entropy

Received 64 Likes on 55 Posts
Default 5DMkIV impressions (oh and pics)

hey team... have been learning my new 5DMkIV, differences from the MkIII, and of course have taken some shots. i'm still learning, but that will always be the case.

disclaimer: the pics other than in the jewelry store and the house were just quickly taken in my living room, so no nitpicking focus, etc.

ok pics first cuz i know that's what you want to see.

pics are edited/resized/compressed from JPG using my quick editing program - ACDSee Ultimate (except the house one i did as a quick raw test/convert in Canon DPP because the the dark to light DR was yuuuge). don't hate me - i'm working on my lightroom learning curve now...

the random shots...

quick 50/1.4 test...

my cat has a good life.

morning house shot...

the jewelry store... client (not store owner) needed some photos... my impression is the exposure/metering is better on the IV, but auto white balance can still be off, but that's not surprising in a store with so little color in it and harsh LED lighting.

will post my impressions next...
Old 11-06-16, 08:56 AM
bitkahuna
resisting entropy

i've been keeping notes of impressions in evernote so i could accumulate and not lose them.

5DMkIV notes

screen
- higher res (1.6M vs 1M)
- can set color balance and brightness
- touch screen - oh yeah... this is a HUGE HUGE win for me. less guessing whether front or back dial or other button controls a feature. i keep forgetting it's touchable though, but i'm getting better.
- typing in a wifi password with the touchscreen is obviously better than dials/buttons!