CT 200h Model (2011-2017)

EGR Questions

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-19, 08:17 AM
TheRob
Driver School Candidate

Received 8 Likes on 5 Posts
Default EGR Questions

Hello there. I just recently joined the forums after lurking on here for a while. I’ve noticed lots of posts on the EGR issues. Seems like a common thing with the CT200h. I have 2015 CT200h that I just recently bought used from Autonation Honda. Purchased it with 98,892 miles and now I’m just over 100,000 miles.

My questions are all CT200h models prone to the EGR issues? Is it a matter of cleaning out the EGR pipe as a part of regular maintenance to prevent the issues from occurring?

I really love my CT200h. But I’m really concerned about these issues.

Last edited by TheRob; 04-07-19 at 09:14 AM.
Old 04-08-19, 07:06 AM
spiral
Pit Crew

Received 33 Likes on 24 Posts

I'm no expert on the different years, but I believe they were all the same 2zr engine, so therefore yes, it should be a concern. There is more to clean than just the pipe though. You should clean the EGR Cooler, EGR Valve, EGR Elbow (between valve and pipe), EGR Pipe, as well as the Intake Manifold, throttle body, and the intake ports of the head. Seems like a lot, but it shouldn't be too hard if they are only moderately dirty and you're only doing it maybe 1x per year.

I only suggest all those items as my EGR pipe was dirty, but could still pass air, but my cooler and valve were 100% blocked. It took 4 wks of soaking, rinsing, ez off cleaner, etc the cooler to finally get air to blow through it. I would also do the cleaning now before it gets worse making it harder to clean later. With that many miles in the short life, the PO most likely did a lot of highway miles (using the ICE more often).

Also, pictures are always fun
Old 04-08-19, 12:58 PM
E46CT
Lexus Test Driver

Received 2,066 Likes on 1,560 Posts