CT 200h Model (2011-2017)

Another "What Type of Gas I should use" question (sorry)

Old 04-26-17, 10:55 AM
BrentBurnz
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Another "What Type of Gas I should use" question (sorry)

I've been driving my 2015 CT200h for about two years now, and until recently, I've always been using Premium 91 gas. I read a couple posts on other forums saying how 87 is all you need, as there is no difference.
I've then talked to Lexus Customer Service, and while he said the minimum required is Regular 87, based on their "recent research" he recommends using 91 because of fuel efficiency.

Does he actually have a point, or is it just bs? While mpg is important, it's pretty low on the totem-pole as I would assume it shouldn't make a huge difference. I'm mainly worried about the gas quality and if it'll be worse for my engine over time if I use 87. (disclaimer, I know nothing about the chemistry behind the gas and your engine)

So I'm thinking of 4 scenarios:
1)Always use 87
2) Always use 91
3) Settle in the middle on 89
4) Or mostly use 87 and occasionally use 91 (I read online that people do that too to "clean their engine"?)

Thanks.
Old 04-26-17, 12:14 PM
SteveMason
Driver

Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts