CT 200h Model (2011-2017)

Want to buy CT

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-23, 05:01 PM
737Driver
Driver

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Want to buy CT

I'm going to be in the market for a new (used) car this fall, I drive sometimes up to 500 miles per week, so the fuel economy is a big plus. I'm coming from a GS 350 F sport and I know it's gonna be a totally different car… Hopefully totally cheaper to operate.
They seem to hold their value really well, that or dealers are very proud of what they have. They seem to run $15-$25,000 for a later model F-Sport with relatively low mileage. I'd like to keep it well under $20,000, and at the same time buy a car that will reliably last me another 100,000 miles without major issues.
I would love to hear opinions from owners on model years to get, or years to avoid, what options to look out for etc.… I'm a pretty spirited driver, so I would prefer the F sport, and I am partial to good headlights, so I think Xenon's are a necessity also. I don't know what specific option packages include those. I don't know about specific options things like navigation, stereo upgrades etc. I also don't know much about head gasket issues, are there certain years or mileage ranges where this tends to occur more? Finally, are those of you who have these cars happy with your purchase? Should I be looking at something else… The last 150,000 miles in my GS 350 have completely sold me on the Lexus brand. Most reliable car I've ever owned.
Thanks!

Last edited by 737Driver; 05-27-23 at 05:06 PM.
Old 05-29-23, 10:10 AM
Clutchless

Received 1,092 Likes on 932 Posts

Have you driven a CT? You do know it has a Prius engine etc and that although the F-Sport handles quite well, it is still pretty slow, especially coming from a GS 350.
If you don't already know this, you can join the Lexus Drivers Site and enter the VIN of any vehicle to see its dealer service history. It is a more detailed account than CarFax etc.