Car Chat General discussion about Lexus, other auto manufacturers and automotive news.

Lexus vs. Toyota dealership for service?

Old 04-12-17, 11:52 AM
ddoo3105
Driver School Candidate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Lexus vs. Toyota dealership for service?

I'm the owner of a 2005 GX470 and was always curious whether there Is any advantage to servicing my Lexus at a Lexus dealership (besides the use of a loan car) as opposed to a Toyota dealership. Are shop rates different? What about the cost of parts?
Old 04-12-17, 12:04 PM
SW17LS
Lexus Fanatic

Received 2,499 Likes on 1,802 Posts

Lexus dealers charge more, and deliver more "perks" for service, nice dealers, facilities, food, loaners, etc.
Old 04-12-17, 02:42 PM
Stroock639
Lead Lap

Received 231 Likes on 175 Posts

i'm a toyota salesman and people have their lexuses (lexi?) serviced here all the time. since the GX is essentially a 4Runner underneath and uses the same 4.7 liter V8 that could be gotten in the 4Runner and came with the sequoia, Land Cruiser, and tundra it'd be no problem. like Steve said, the lexus dealer will be nicer to wait in and likely have more "complimentary" items but in reality that's what you're paying more for.

if i were you, i wouldn't get ANY car serviced at a dealership unless you have to or it's a warranty paid service... some of the people in this shop are UNBELIEVABLY STUPID and i wouldn't trust some of them to turn a socket wrench from off to on... but of course there's always the master techs who do the big jobs. when you get an oil change and other items covered under the prepaid maintenance plans it's usually someone who's been minimally trained with no sort of ASE certification who will change your oil, rotate the tires, etc...
Old 04-12-17, 03:54 PM
newyerker
Pit Crew

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Curious on the loaner service, as my recent lexus purchase is my first luxury dealership purchase.