Car Chat General discussion about Lexus, other auto manufacturers and automotive news.

Looking to buy a new car! Advice would be great!

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-11, 10:34 PM
doublehh03
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking to buy a new car! Advice would be great!

Hey guys, newbie here!

I'm in the market to buy a new car. Has owned a 01 Accord sedan, 170k miles on it. With my new job, I have to commute 45 miles each way, so I'm looking for a car that is good on gas and extremely reliable (want to own for at least 10 years), and looks good

Not in a hurry to buy, but I've been researching a bit and here are what I narrow down to these 2: (listed in order of preference

1) 2012 Accord coupe: I've always wanted a coupe (I'm still in my mid-20s), and this car is a beauty in my opinion for its price range. It's very spacious for a coupe, pretty good MPG (around 26-28mpg mixed. But with my commute 85% highway, it could be higher (although I'm nowhere near a conservative driver).
Price will be extremely negotiable since it is in its last year before the redesign next year. I'm able to get 2500k off before any negotiation. And Accord is known for its reliability

2) 2012 Camry: Reliable, and comfortable ride. New design, and new techs. Great gas among its competition, and prices were lowered this year. But the new design is meh, and I can see my father driving this car, not me haha.

Any suggestions. I'm highly leaning towards the Accord, but since this is my first true car purchase with my own money, advice would be helpful. Suggestions for other cars that I should consider would be great also!
Old 10-06-11, 11:17 PM
caddyowner
Recovering Lexus Addict

Received 13 Likes on 9 Posts