ClubLexus - Lexus Forum Discussion

ClubLexus - Lexus Forum Discussion (https://www.clublexus.com/forums/)
-   Automotive Care & Detailing (https://www.clublexus.com/forums/automotive-care-and-detailing-122/)
-   -   Power washer striped clear coat? (https://www.clublexus.com/forums/automotive-care-and-detailing/914396-power-washer-striped-clear-coat.html)

AndaleFish 03-20-19 04:41 PM

Power washer striped clear coat?

Complete detailing noob here. Bought a 1700 psi power washer to use on my recently purchased SGM 2IS because it hasn’t been washed/detailed in a while. Never got closer than 1 1/2 feet from paint and used a wide spray tip. Looks like it blew off some clear coat...or something. My car has a small window sticker that says resist all which is some sort of sealant that the dealer would have applied at some point and It got me wondering if that’s what came off. I find it hard to believe that 1700 psi would damage my clear coat at 1 1/2 foot distance but what do I know.

Is it some other sealant that came off or did I really strip my clear coat? Pictures below.
https://cimg9.ibsrv.net/gimg/www.clu...fae1e0547.jpeg
https://cimg1.ibsrv.net/gimg/www.clu...144143682.jpeg

Blkexcoupe 03-20-19 06:17 PM

Those look like they were deep scratches that were already on the paint. It's possible the ragged edges lifted when the pressure washer hit it, but more likely it was there before you started.

I have a 2000 psi pressure washer that I use with a 40 degree (white) nozzle and have zero issues with it damaging the paint.

AndaleFish 03-20-19 06:44 PM

Thanks for replying. The bumper did have a few scuffs beforehand as you were saying but I don’t recall there being any clear stripped off like in the photo. I still think it shouldn’t have come off even if it was scuffed a bit. Is it possible it’s some other sealant? I know that the previous owner had a sealant called resist all applied to the paint I just have no idea when.

acotugno 03-21-19 03:52 AM