Automotive Care & Detailing Discussions on washing, waxing, polishing, detailing, cleaning and maintaining the beauty of your Lexus.

Newbie...help me out please!

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-19, 11:25 PM
2008ISF
Driver

Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts
Thumbs up Newbie...help me out please!

So I am tired of the paint on my wifes car looking so bad after she takes it to get the $39 hand car wash special. Its a 2006 Scion xB.

I thought since I plan on getting her a new car soon, it would be time to start practicing on my Tacoma and her Scion before I jump into doing her new car and my other car.

I have started reading and watching a lot of car detailers on other forums and trying to piece together a starter kit for me since this will be a first time that I use a DA Orbital buffer.

Since I am brand new to this I figured I would start with something cheap to learn with.

DA Orbital:
Griots DA Orbital 6: https://www.autogeek.net/griots-gara...sher-club.html
Pad recommendations?

Products:
Not sure what products to choose yet...any recommendations?
Meguiars?
Pinnacle?
Wolfgang?
Blackfire? (Just throwing names out there)
What I am looking for is ease of use (remember - beginner), that will get me nice results. Medium price range is fine. I don't want to spend hours making the car looking flawless, just something that I can learn with, use to make the car look decent, and not cost an arm and a leg.

For washing the car I use a pH neutral soap. I have used both Meguiars Gold Class and Zaino and they both seem to work well.

My understanding for a decent car detail is:
1. Wash car
2. Claybar vehicle - Important step for a better overall shine
3. Polish
4. Wax

Any other steps I am missing?

Thanks for you help!

Last edited by 2008ISF; 01-06-19 at 11:29 PM.
Old 01-07-19, 05:43 PM
ultimase
Intermediate

Received 70 Likes on 59 Posts

Some of the pro's will be by shortly...until them.