Automotive Care & Detailing Discussions on washing, waxing, polishing, detailing, cleaning and maintaining the beauty of your Lexus.

Best Buffer/Polisher for the 1st timer

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-18, 01:55 PM
Zipit555
Pit Crew

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Best Buffer/Polisher for the 1st timer

Have a '16 ES350. I usually try to get a coat of wax on her twice a year but I am developing some issues with my hands/wrist. I have always done it the old fashioned way by hand but i am wondering about the Orbital Buffers/Polishers in the $30-$50 range. Any recommendations? Are these "you get what you pay for" or are there some out there worth the while? Not looking to do any heavy polishing or anything like that.............just wax on/wax off. I have never used a buffer/polisher before.

THANKS!
Old 06-29-18, 02:28 PM
laobo979
Lead Lap

Received 66 Likes on 47 Posts

I say buy the harbor freight one. If you have one near you there always the weekly 20% off coupon on top of that. If your just topping it off as wax to use then I wouldn’t spend the extra money on the expensive ones.
Old 06-30-18, 08:49 AM
jfelbab

Received 58 Likes on 45 Posts

As someone who has been detailing cars for six decades and have pretty bad arthritis in my hands and back, I'd suggest that you would do better to save the $30-$50 and put it towards a better Dual Action polisher. A fairly useful Porter Cable 7424XL can often be had for around $100 and is a much more functional tool. You would then have access to a wide variety of pads and it is a tool power enough to remove swirls and actually polish paint.
The following users liked this post:
Casper1 (03-12-22)
Old 06-30-18, 12:18 PM
zmcgovern4
Auto Detailing Master

Received 93 Likes on 78 Posts

I actually just wrote an article on this very topic, but I'm not sure when it will be published so I will copy/paste some of the info here......