Automotive Care & Detailing Discussions on washing, waxing, polishing, detailing, cleaning and maintaining the beauty of your Lexus.

New to "proper" car washing, product expertise needed...

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-18, 06:43 PM
6od
Driver School Candidate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default New to "proper" car washing, product expertise needed...

As the title states, I'm new to this proper business of car washing. I found this thread in my research for buying a new (read: used) car and now having done so, I find myself coming back for everything else. I first started to compile a list of things to buy so I could give my car a thorough wash/clay/wax… but then I started to read about polishing and I cut myself off. I know I could buy the things needed to do these things myself, but I already have a hobby (records) that takes up my spare $$$ and time.

I've since decided that I'm just gonna pay someone else to do a real good job like, once or maybe twice a year - and I’ll do the rest. I'm either gonna have a full paint correction with coating done relatively soon, or just pay for a good detail/polish/wax sooner and get the correction/coating later, maybe in 6 months (seeing as it's upwards of $1k).

Here’s what I already have so far:
EXTERIOR:
  • Meguiar’s Gold Class Shampoo
  • Gilmour Cleaning Sprayer Foamaster II Multi-ratio Spray Gun (thank you, Amazon Lightning deal)
  • Chemical Guys wash mitt
  • Meguiar’s Supreme Shine Microfiber towels (2x 3-packs)
  • Grit guard (just one, but another one is on the way)
INTERIOR:
  • Meguiar’s Quik Interior Detailer Cleaner
  • Aerospace Protectant 303 Matte
  • Stoner Invisible Glass aerosol
I already have 2 Home Depot buckets.

I’m using my portable Dewalt wet/dry vac to vacuum the interior, and have been using the blower mode to get water out of the crevices/emblems when washing so far, and drying with microfibers (admittedly, not super high quality ones, but I blow most the water off first).