Grand-Am Cup Championships Still Up For Grabs With Two Races Left

By -
DAYTONA BEACH, Florida – Grand American Road Racing Association has announced the latest point standings for the Grand-Am Cup Series, and with only two races remaining in the 2002 season, all four class championships are still up for grabs. The fiercest battle is in the Grand Sport I class, where the latest standings reveal a three-way tie for the lead in the driver standings between Scott Maxwell, Devon Powell and Doug Goad.

Several teams and drivers remain in contention for the Sport Touring I championships. In the class team standings, King Motorsports took over the lead from Villaconn International. King had previously trailed Villaconn by six points, but the team’s fourth-place finish at Mont-Tremblant, coupled with Villaconn’s early exit from the race, advanced the defending team champions into the lead.

Villaconn slipped to second place in the ST I team standings, four points behind the leader, while the Team Lexus #2 entry passed Team Lexus’ #0 car to take over third place, 10 points out of the lead.

Team Lexus driver Jean-Francois Dumoulin maintained his lead in the class driver standings, despite his 10th place finish at Mont-Tremblant. However, he now faces a serious threat for the lead from King Motorsports’ Bob Endicott, who took over the number two spot in the standings after jumping to within six points of the leader.

Villaconn driver Beau Buisson slid from second place into a three-way tie for third with teammates Bransen Patch and Don Salama, eight points behind the leader.

The driver points reflect the TOP-20 out of 96 drivers in the Sport Touring class after the eighth race.

Sport Touring I

  1. 217 Jean-Francois Dumoulin – Team Lexus
  2. 211 Bob Endicott
  3. 209 Beau Buisson
  4. 209 Bransen Patch
  5. 209 Don Salama,
  6. 203 Tim Gaffney – Team Lexus
  7. 199 Chuck Goldsborough – Team Lexus
  8. 191 Ian James – Team Lexus
  9. 191 Daniel Dror – Team Lexus
  10. 183 Mike Van Sicklen
  11. 171 Andy Lally – Team Lexus
  12. 167 Ken Dobson
  13. 147 Mike Keravich III
  14. 144 Mark Craig
  15. 142 John Schmitt
  16. 138 Wade Gaughran
  17. 132 David Haskell
  18. 132 Stan Winokur
  19. 131 Scott Schlesinger
  20. 130 Jason Piscelli – Team Lexus

Comments ()