VIP Style Discuss Lexus VIP and Lexus VIP Styled cars.

UAS Aero Sport Questions

Search this Thread

Old 12-04-13, 10:59 PM
Sc0pe
Lexus Test Driver

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default UAS Aero Sport Questions

I'm currently researching/planning out my future air setup and I had some questions:
  • Could one use aftermarket struts (think KYB GR2) with UAS bags, or is it better to just use coilovers as the base strut?
  • If the answer to the above is yes (struts work), are the brackets the same?
  • If I felt the need to replace the struts with something "better" (i.e. going from Megan EZs to PBM, or BC Racing) is it as simple as removing the bags/brackets from the old struts and swapping them over to the new struts, or is there more to it than that?
I'm a bit of a newbie with air, so please be gentle.
Old 12-04-13, 11:02 PM
Dranom
Lead Lap

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

your better off using coilovers since you just slip on the bags. Swap spring with bags then adjust your height
With regular shocks there's some welding involve
Old 12-05-13, 01:28 AM
Sc0pe
Lexus Test Driver

Originally Posted by Dranom
your better off using coilovers since you just slip on the bags. Swap spring with bags then adjust your height
With regular shocks there's some welding involve
Ah, okay, so coilovers are, in a way, more DIY friendly as far as assembly goes. Any word on that bit about "upgrading"?

Last edited by Sc0pe; 12-05-13 at 01:31 AM.
Old 12-05-13, 02:40 AM
geeznuts
Lexus Test Driver

Save money and time and look up Airrex air. Check them out on Facebook an Instagram DIY friendly
Old 12-05-13, 03:15 AM
swtjlsy
Lexus Champion

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

It going to cost about the same for Megan with UAS as it would with just buying Air rex. I would rather have a bolt in over rather than a bag slip over.
Old 12-05-13, 07:26 AM
Sc0pe
Lexus Test Driver

Originally Posted by swtjlsy