Wheels, Tires & Brakes Forum Where else do you go for wheel, tire and brake information?

Staggered Set Up Question

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-01, 03:28 PM
///MDex
Lexus Champion

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Question Staggered Set Up Question

What size spare do you have in the trunk? Kind of a catch 22 isn't it?

I was running some numbers on tirerack and picked 5 wheels, but not sure which size of the staggered tires I should get 3 of instead of 2? I've never done a staggered setup before...Am I missing something?

TIA
Old 10-14-01, 04:50 PM
Manaray
Lexus Fanatic

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

I have my stock spare...only good for my rear wheels though because of my AP Racing brakes up front...no worries, that's what Lexus RSA is for...

Staggered is when you get large wheels for the rear. So your front wheels are say 8.5" wide (245) and your rear are 9.5" wide (275). Since you're rear wheels are the wheels that get the power to the ground, having more "meat" on there helps launches and whatnot...plus it looks cool

Staggering is popular to do with RWD cars but some FWD people do it also for the look (fakers!)
Old 10-14-01, 04:57 PM
GS4Will
Lexus Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

hey manaray,

how are you? got a question. can the GS take 285/35/18 on 18x10 with 1.2" lowering, no fender mod, without any problems?

thanks a lot.

william
Old 10-14-01, 05:01 PM
///MDex
Lexus Champion

Yep - that's exactly what I've got planned!

Here's the details of what I was talking about on the other thread - not a bad deal really, but still not sure if I'll do it.
Attached Thumbnails Staggered Set Up Question-order-summary-and-pic.jpg  
Old 10-15-01, 11:32 AM
gsnav
Lead Lap

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hey Dexter,