Wheels, Tires & Brakes Forum Where else do you go for wheel, tire and brake information?

How about these rims?

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-04, 03:55 PM
GS1day
Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How about these rims?

I'm thinking about these rims for my 98 GS400. They are 18"x 8.5" and have a +30 offset.

How do you think they will look?

Does anyone recommend running with a 'fat' setup and oversized tire so that I don't lose so much of the comfort in the ride?

If I do this with the 18's and a 'fat' set-up, that will raize my car's ride height, correct? Must I compensate for this by lowering the car, or can I leave it, because its less than an inch...

Any thoughts on the matter would be appreciated.....I'm a definite novice when it comes to car wheel knowledge, and after reading rominl's helpful explaination, I don't know if his recommended +38 offset for an 18x8.5 rim means that this rim wouldn't fit right with its +30 offset?

Someone please set me straight

thanks

Freddy
Attached Thumbnails How about these rims?-cragar_tease.jpg  
Old 06-11-04, 04:32 PM
rominl
exclusive matchup

Received 184 Likes on 143 Posts

that offset might cause rubbing in the front

with fat setup, the overall diameter of the wheel is 1" more, the car is effective 1/2" higher than before. so it's your call on lowering
Old 06-11-04, 05:01 PM
LexFather

Default Re: How about these rims?

Originally posted by GS1day
I'm thinking about these rims for my 98 GS400. They are 18"x 8.5" and have a +30 offset.

How do you think they will look?

Does anyone recommend running with a 'fat' setup and oversized tire so that I don't lose so much of the comfort in the ride?

If I do this with the 18's and a 'fat' set-up, that will raize my car's ride height, correct? Must I compensate for this by lowering the car, or can I leave it, because its less than an inch...