Wheels, Tires & Brakes Forum Where else do you go for wheel, tire and brake information?

what determines high disk?

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-04, 10:34 AM
joshoowa
Lexus Champion

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default what determines high disk?

im a noob when it comes to rims and tires, but im curious what actually determines if the wheel is high disk?
Old 05-19-04, 12:48 PM
rominl
exclusive matchup

Received 184 Likes on 143 Posts

mainly the spoke design. for high disk wheels, the spokes will curve outward more, creating more space for the brake calipers
Old 05-19-04, 02:46 PM
joshoowa
Lexus Champion

ahh icic.
Old 05-19-04, 09:39 PM
rominl
exclusive matchup

so yes, that's the theory behind high disk, but in reality that doesn't really help much at all, coz' there is no definite "measure" on how much the high disk will help
Old 05-20-04, 03:51 AM
D2-AUTOSPORT
Former Sponsor

Rom, its funny this was posted, I was thinking about this yesterday.

Is the disk fittiment also a measure of where on the wheel the center is located? ie, offset has more to do with the hub and backspacing, correct? But disk has more to do with where the center is located in relation to the width of the wheel?

Example: high disk, the venter is closer to the lip, (less lip action, more brake clearance)
low disk, its closer to the center, (more lip action, less or no brake clearance)

or is it a "give and take, measure of both" type deal
Old 05-20-04, 07:09 AM
rominl
exclusive matchup

well i wasn't trying to make things complicated, but since you ask, i will just throw it out. the disk type is mainly just the design of the spoke. now does that mean it will clear all the brakes out there it's another issue though. davegs4 is a good example. his piaa wheels are high disk in the front already, however, it just so happened that it still hit the caliper VERY slightly. i think he said even a 3mm spacer will clear no problem