Suspension and Brakes Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, brakes, etc.

Sportdesign suspension question

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-03, 09:16 AM
dseag2
Lexus Champion

Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
Question Sportdesign suspension question

Okay, I'm a newbie when it comes to the whole shocks/lowering thing. And I've searched the forum but I can't seem to find the answer...

I've just purchased an '03 GS3 Sportdesign. I'm looking to replace the wheels with 18"s (not interested in 19"s or 20"s), and I'm not sure whether I'll need to lower the car or not. Here's where I'm confused...

1) I've read that some members have lowered their GS's using L-tuned shocks/springs.
2) I've read that the L-tuned shocks/springs are the same ones used on the Sportdesign.

I have the Sportdesign suspension, but I still don't see any evidence of lowering vs. the stock GS. There is still a huge gap between the wheel wells and the 16" OEM rims. I don't think much of that gap will be filled by replacing with 18" rims because the tire that goes with it will be much thinner.

If I'm not that concerned about some degree of gap between the wheel well and tire (just not a hand's width like I have now) will I still need to have the car lowered? Do I need to get L-tuned shocks/springs?Sorry if the question is stupid, but I really need help with this one. Thanks for any input you can give.
Old 10-08-03, 09:42 AM
Neo
The One

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

I thought that it was only the shocks that are tuned differently and the springs are stock => stock height.
Old 10-08-03, 09:46 AM
Letsride

Received 52 Likes on 46 Posts

Originally posted by Neo
I thought that it was only the shocks that are tuned differently and the springs are stock => stock height.
That is correct. The springs are stock, nothing special....
Old 10-08-03, 11:00 AM
DoubleWhoosh
Lexus Test Driver

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

The springs seem to be the standard GS springs as far as I have seen.