Suspension and Brakes Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, brakes, etc.

Grunchy sound when going over speed bumps when its cold

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-15, 12:21 AM
Aron9000
Lexus Champion

Received 28 Likes on 27 Posts
Default Grunchy sound when going over speed bumps when its cold

So the car is a 1992 SC300, 5 speed, 83k miles on it. This is an extremely well preserved, original paint, original leather, hell original everything type of car, always garaged, hell you could sell it as a CPO Lexus if they'd warranty something that old. I have a stack of maitnence reciepts, including a timing belt service at 55k miles back in 2010(I've been driving it a lot more than the previous owner since buying it in 2011).

Anyways, as far as the maintenance records go, nothing has ever been touched on the suspension.

It still handles great, I haven't touched the suspension, still rides a bit firm, but I'm thinking that's mainly from the 18" wheels and 35 series tires I've put on it.

Anyways, my main gripe is a rather graunchy sort of noise when you roll over a speed bump at low speed, or hit a big divet in the road at under 30mph, you can hear seperelty the front, then the rear suspension sort of moaning. I notice this when I pull out of my driveway on cold mornings, there is about a straight 2" drop from the driveway to the street.

Other than that untold racket, I think the suspension is performing fine. When its above 40-50 degrees, the suspension is quiet as a church mouse BTW.

So what is causing my racket??? Worn out/dried out control arm bushings??? This is my first guess, as those do tend to perish with age and miles.
Old 02-02-15, 07:27 AM
HiPSI
Lexus Test Driver

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

One thing I would recommend is tightening down to spec the front cross member / subframe bolts, they loosen over time and can cause a screeching noise (metal movement) on hard hit bumps when cold.