Suspension and Brakes Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, brakes, etc.

Another BC Coilover Rates Thread!

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-14, 03:43 AM
BoyOhBoy
Lead Lap

Received 3 Likes on 1 Post
Default Another BC Coilover Rates Thread!

So I've narrowed the rates down to either 14k/12k or 16k/14k. I'm planning on making the purchase tomorrow night at the latest. I've chosen to pick up BC Racing Extreme Drop Coilovers. So for someone who is going to travel 40mi/day (mostly freeway), what would be ideal. I live in the bay area or San Jose to be more specific and I don't think the roads are so bad. However, I'm having my fenders pulled and rub and I want to sit flush (I hope) without constantly rubbing. I'm new to the scene and don't know anyone who has these coilovers so experiencing them first hand is out of the picture. So if you guys vould share your knowledge, mentioning your spring rates or comparing them to the stock suspension. Thanks a lot!
Old 04-21-14, 12:27 PM
Gville350

Received 435 Likes on 387 Posts

For what you'll be doing, I'd say you'll be fine with the 14k/12k setup.
Old 04-21-14, 07:26 PM
dfwjohnd
Pole Position

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

12k/10k would work for you
Old 04-21-14, 08:13 PM
BoyOhBoy
Lead Lap

I ended up buying 14k/12k but when I asked for the extreme drop (or low) version, he said there's actually no such thing. Got me kinda confused since I see that term everywhere on the forums. You got any inputs?
Old 04-22-14, 07:12 AM
knguyenk
Lead Lap

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

BC Racing has only 3 types of coilovers depending on the application the BR, RAM, and ER type.

The BR type being the street driving and occasional road course duty (street/light track use)

RAM type being almost the same but with an inverted coilover setup (damper fluid being moved in the coilover, track use only)

The ER type with an additional reservoirs (track/street use all from BC Racing website).

http://www.bcracing-na.com/