Suspension and Brakes Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, brakes, etc.

95 SC400, front shocks replacement?

Old 03-06-14, 11:49 PM
picodroid
Rookie

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Talking 95 SC400, front shocks replacement?

Hey guys! I'mew new to the "club", if you will. In fact, just about an hour into being a Lexus owner, more specifically a 1995 SC400!

Bought it knowing the front shocks aren't so great. It feels as if they have a leak, I still get some firmness, but it does bobble/clunk over rough surfaces and over smoother bumps it bounces up and down a bit. So, definitely needs some shocks!

Question is, does anybody know of a reliable online guide on replacing them? I'm not a mechanic, but I'm quite competent when it comes to fixing things. Was able to replace a wheel bearing in my other car (a Maxima) without any real problem. Just not sure what tools, etc are need. I'm assuming I'll need to remove the wheel hub all the way, so I'll need to take it in for an alignment if I replace the struts myself, but I'd like to save on labor for the struts, if possible.

That said, any pros/cons in using a stiffer shock in the front than the rear? The previous owner replaced the rear shocks late last year and went with factory firmness for them. If I go for a more stiff front strut, could it throw off the vehicle balance too much?

(and if you're curious of what it looks like as it stands, these are pics from the listing and it looks identical http://imgur.com/a/sIr8h#0 )
The following users liked this post:
xsh3lbzx (03-24-21)
Old 03-10-14, 02:00 AM
picodroid
Rookie

Going to bump this, and be a bit more specific now that I've done a fair bit of research.

In regards to the removal of the current, bad front struts: From what I see, some suggest removing the sway bar link, others say loosen or remove an upper control arm bolt? Any one here have more insight on this?

As for the struts I'm replacing with, I'd like some help.