Suspension and Brakes Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, brakes, etc.

replacing brake master cylinder after LS400 swap

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-08, 06:20 PM
CCC-TT
Racer

Received 35 Likes on 26 Posts
Default replacing brake master cylinder after LS400 swap

After the LS400 brake swap i bled the brakes twice, both times after i finished, the pedal would go the floor and there was almost no braking power. So today i took it to the local shop where they bled the brakes... in the end, with the same result. after talking to them and searching around the forums, ive come to the conclusion that the brake master cylinder needs to be replaced. I've never done this before and i'm not really sure how hard it's going to be, do you guys have any input or suggestions before i try and tackle this in the driveway?
Old 10-11-08, 06:55 PM
5sp_jzz30
Lexus Champion

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

easy as pie....mmmm pie...

ive done it on so many different cars. get the master cylinder, prime it, install and rebleed.

should take more then 1.5 hours for whole job including bleeding.

ps get a friend to pump cuz thats the harder job...and a case of cold beer
Old 10-12-08, 08:20 AM
CCC-TT
Racer

Alright, thanks bro. How do i go about priming it?

If i were to buy a brake master cylinder for an SC with out traction control (my 96 sc has TRAC) what issues, other than losing TRAC, would i run into?

Last edited by CCC-TT; 10-12-08 at 08:43 AM.
Old 10-12-08, 08:51 PM
VGnomore
Pole Position

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Are you sure that you dont have your calipers flipped and have the bleeders on the bottom? I know it sounds like common sense but it is the small things we miss.
Old 10-13-08, 09:20 AM
CCC-TT
Racer

i'm sure; bled the brakes twice myself, then brought it to the car shop for them to double check my work and try it themselves... didnt work, the master cylinder is shot, but luckily i just found one for $100... I'm happy lol
Old 10-13-08, 02:07 PM
SHOLEXMAN