Suspension and Brakes Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, brakes, etc.

Swaybars, 101?

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-08, 02:10 PM
ba-b4
Lexus Test Driver

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

Originally Posted by Kurtz
Anybody know the size of the F-sport bars to compare? Also I'd read the Hotckis ones are adjustable in the rear, which setting did you use? Any change in the ride since in theory it makes your suspension slight less "independent"?
I just got my F sways but haven't really looked at them to see what size they are. Maybe I should go check again. Will get them installed next week maybe and report back on how they feel.
Old 04-26-08, 03:04 PM
darkdream
Lexus Champion

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by 2slow
I'm no expert, but one of my friends told me that if the sway bars are stiffer, it's easier to spin out?
if they are too stiff they will induce oversteer; however, just making them stiffer will not...especially since the F sport parts are from lexus, they aren't going to sell parts that induce oversteer,
Old 04-27-08, 06:20 PM
carchitect
Lead Lap

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

IS250/350 RWD swaybars specs:

ft Dia mm 27.2 X t5.0
rate N/mm 132.9
rr Dia mm 15
rate N/mm 32.2

IS AWD swaybar spec:

ft Dia mm 26.5 X t4.5
rate N/mm 111.0

rr Dia mm 14
rate N/mm 24.5

IS-F swaybar spec:

ft Dia mm 28.6 X t4.0
rate N/mm 141.3

rr Dia mm 16
rate ?

F-sport spec

ft Dia mm 28.6 X t4.0
rate N/mm 141.3

rr Dia mm 19
rate N/mm 81

Its apparent the F-sport front is exactly the same as the OEM IS-F swaybar. The rear is different though and can be purchase seperately if one were to purchase it for the AWD model. The AWD model's front is significantly different from the RWD cars and the F-sport front will not work for it. The F-sport swaybar does come with poly urethane bushings which is definitely an improvement over the rubber OEM ones.

-Joe
Old 04-27-08, 06:50 PM
Sgt_K
Driver

So let me get this straight...