Suspension and Brakes Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, brakes, etc.

Swaybars, 101?

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-08, 11:08 AM
al503
Lexus Champion

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Swaybars, 101?

First of all, I'm no expert on the topic of swaybars but I've seen some info in this forum regarding aftermarket swaybars that may not give the entire story/effect of using them.

Most people will look to swaybars to reduce body roll in turns. Stiffer swaybars will definitely help with the body roll. However, as with the majority of (if not all) aftermarket parts, there are tradeoffs.

The stiffer the swaybar, the less 'independent' the suspension becomes. An independent suspension allows each tire to react to the road surface, which is usually a good thing. When you decrease that independence, road imperfections will have a greater negative effect. More importantly, you may also lose overall lateral grip.

If you're looking for increased roll stiffness, the best way to achieve it would be stiffer springs/coilovers. You'll get increased roll stiffness without decreasing the benefits of an 'independent' suspension. The arguably proper use of aftermarket anti-roll bar is to fine tune the general under/oversteer characteristics of that particular car. However, if you just want the increased roll stiffness and don't plan on probing the limits of adhesion, changing the roll bars are actually decent means to get there.
Old 04-18-08, 11:45 AM
ndk83
Pole Position

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

interesting... What if i want alot less body roll but i dont want to loose any later grip. I have to tein s. tech springs and all in all honesty the change in body roll wasnt that much. I know that this is a lexus and i know our suspension is not the best platform for performance driving, but thats not gonna stop me from trying to change that.

Whats the best move? upgrading to coils? or putting on the sway bars? Do they really decrease the levels of grip alot?