Suspension and Brakes Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, brakes, etc.

CL - Need Help - Choosing Suspension (A few coilover choices versus Springs/Shocks)

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-08, 01:09 PM
AdrockTT
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default CL - Need Help - Choosing Suspension (A few coilover choices versus Springs/Shocks)

Hello all. I'm usually over on SF.com, but I need some help with my 2000 platinum series GS300 that I have just put some new 19s on.

I have currently bone stock suspension with 19x8.5 235/35/19 fronts and 19x9.5 275/35/19 rears.

My goals are to lower the car, eliminating the fender gap, WITHOUT losing ride quality. This is my daily driver, my luxury car, and I'm a granny driver in this thing. Performance is not anywhere near the importance of comfort, non-bouncy, smooth, not-jarring-your-teeth, daily drivable ride. I also DO NOT want to rub tires in my car either.

That said, I'm a dealer for many different car parts, so my choices of parts is based on my rates and ability to get various pricing on different setups. I don't have a lot of room here (ie - don't really want to go Tein, Espelir, etc, due to lack of a solid account.)

OK, here's what I'm considering

A) Lowering Springs with New Shocks
A-1: Tanabe NF2 with KYB GR2
A-2: Tanabe DF2 with KYB GR2
A-3/A-4: Tanabe springs with Bilstein Shocks (HDs I would assume since I hear they ride better)

Coilovers
[Cost aside, I'd rather know that my choice fits my priorities of quality ride with fender gap eliminated, longevity for my DD, etc. than debate the cost diff between springs/shocks and coilovers]

B) K-Sport Kontrol Pro Damper System KSP-CLX05-KP coilovers
I've seen very little feedback, can anyone point me to a review or have any input here? Would these fit my goals? Should I add the helper spring to make things softer?

C) Tanabe Sustec Pro S-OC Coilovers