Suspension and Brakes Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, brakes, etc.

Product Review: Prothane F&R LCA kits...

Old 12-24-07, 05:45 PM
andrewdees
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Product Review: Prothane F&R LCA kits...

Hello all, I have recently installed the F&R LCA bushing kits from Prothane. Both kits were ordered on EBAY for $175 shipped to my door. Installation took a while since I didnt have a lot of time to work on the SC since I have been busy with my normal job.

As far as the kits go, both came with lots of bushings. Upon opening the boxes, I was kinda timid, thinking theres no way i'll be able to install all of these bushings. There were 8 on the front and 14 on the rear I believe. I'm a motorhome mechanic and have been working on cars for the past 4 or 5 years. Its not a job for someone who hasnt wrenched much in the past. If you have any experience with taking apart suspension components, its no problem at all.

Prothane uses 2 separate bushing halves to make 1 complete bushing. Plenty of their "super grease" was included. In the included instructions they say that the old bushings need to be cut/torched/pressed out with an arbor press. I did not have access to any sort of press. I did have access to a propane torch and a 5.5" bench vise.

The hardest part was getting the old bushings out. The front LCA bushings were the only ones that I had to torch out. The rest I used the bench vice with a smaller socket on one side and larger socket on the rear to allow the bushings to slide into. I found that heating the metal before squeezing out the old bushing made it come out a lot easier. Once the old bushings were out I used an air powered die grinder with a gasket removal attachment to clean up the metal on the inside of the sleeve. The new bushings push right in by hand as long as their lubed up well with the grease. I should have taken pictures but did not have access to a digi camera.