Suspension and Brakes Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, brakes, etc.

Creak in Rear Strut/Suspension

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-06, 02:59 PM
praiford
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Creak in Rear Strut/Suspension

Hi All-

Newbie here with a question. I have done the search and am still confused. I have a '00 GS300 that has developed a creaky groan from the left rear when going over speed bumps at a low speed or even when getting out of the car in the garage (I weigh 190 lbs.) I can even make it creak by pushing down and getting the rear end rocking just so. I took it to my dealer and they said at first they would "lube" the rear bushings for $140, then called back and said I needed a new rear strut. I went ahead and had it done, but the noise came back the next day. I am going in one more time next week to leave it again. Any ideas or thoughts? They definitely put in a new strut.

Thanks.
Old 01-11-06, 08:59 PM
pianovt
Rookie

Hello Praiford,

I have the same symptoms on my 2002 GS300. It sounds like some rubber parts are too tight around metal. One possible candidate is the rubber ring that sits between the top of the coil spring and the support plate. In addition, I also hear something like a "creaky squeak" from the front. Would you please let me know what you find out from the dealer?

Does anyone know what the factory uses as a lubricant on suspension bushings and other rubber parts?

Thanks,

VT
Old 01-13-06, 08:18 AM
praiford
Driver School Candidate

Default Update so far

I went for a test ride with the service tech yesterday. He heard more of a rattle than the creak/groan. I couldn't replicate the sound either, although the rattle seemed more pronounced. He was going to retorque everything and lubricate the upper and lower bushings in the rear. I didn't ask what they used (WD-40??). I am sure they have something special.