GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

2000 Lexus Gs300

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-17, 08:39 AM
Jeslove13
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking 2000 Lexus Gs300

Hi everyone. Newbie here. I recently purchased a 2000 lexus gs300. It developed a check engine light shortly after. Then the vsc and vsc trac off lights came on which i understand happens after the cel has been on. I have had the codes read and replaced the MAF. Which obviously wasnt the answer if the lights are back lol the check engine is solid, not flashing.
Ive had my boyfriend check for vacuum leaks, etc. After replacing the MAF lights went away after reset only to come back yesterday. It drives GREAT. I officially am addicted to this model for the smoothness and durability of the engine make. Love it. I DONT want to just throw parts at it as it could be a long list of ANYTHING... spark plugs, wires, coil packs, gas cap, o2 sensor... im replacing spark plugs next. Ive done fuel injection cleaner (chevron). The codes honestly lead me nowhere as it pointed to the MAF. Codes were random misfire, running lean, misfire on cylinders 1-4. My boyfriend is able to work on it for me but not sure what needs to be done. Should i have the battery checked? Next up is clean throttle bottle, clean intake with seafoam and new spark plugs and check wires/coils. It ONLY misfires at idle, cold start or when at a stop sign. It doesnt misfire when the weather is warmer... other than the misfire at start, it drives perfect except slight hesitantion at 30 mph. Ive seen this issue on this model on other sites so ANY feedback is helpful. Thanks a lot.
Old 02-21-17, 09:49 AM
Mr Jokster
Lexus Test Driver

Received 88 Likes on 80 Posts

First off, welcome to Club Lexus

Also, be sure to use the search function with the codes you got, this car has been around for 20 years and all the answers are here for you