outside smell coming inside even with circulation button off

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-16, 01:11 PM
aisalit
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question outside smell coming inside even with circulation button off

Hi There,

I'm new to Lexus Club and I have enough experience with cars, however, I have this interesting issue, my car keeping the external air 24/7 even when i press the Internal Circulation button (I have two separated buttons) with A\C either On or Off, I always smell whatever outside. My 2015 GS 350 is almost new with few miles though, the dealer has no idea how this could happen, they checked the sunroof, doors, blend door movement + closure and windows all are health, and still having outside smells (cars exhaust + flowers + sewerage etc.) anything just coming inside right away.
Old 12-06-16, 07:14 PM
duraiaras
Rookie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Yes. I do have this issue of odor like school bus diesel or pickup truck diesel getting in.. I talked to dealer and they denied it. Living with it.. Staying far behind trucks or buses.
The following users liked this post:
aisalit (12-07-16)
Old 12-06-16, 07:33 PM
spoogenet
Lead Lap

Received 36 Likes on 30 Posts

No car is air-tight so you can't expect to be completely isolated from external smells. But if the air is on recirculate, it should be significantly reduced.

Have they confirmed the air filters are properly installed?
aisalit (12-07-16)
Old 12-07-16, 06:10 AM
DallasDave
Lead Lap

Received 119 Likes on 73 Posts

There also must be a "door" of some type to redirect the air when switching from OUTSIDE to RECIRCULATE. It wouldn't be unreasonable to think this mechanism is failing somehow. On my wife's MB, it's easy to see this operation. There's a trap door that closes and cuts off the flow of fresh air when the recirculate button is pressed. I've noticed it when replacing the cabin air filters.