Suspension and Brakes Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, brakes, etc.

Rear suspension Noise over bumps/cracks

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-16, 11:56 PM
DA51
Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Rear suspension Noise over bumps/cracks

I have spent the last week reading every thread on the Internet concerning the "Thumping" in the trunk area on Lexus' vehicles and I am still looking for an answer. I have 162,000 miles on my 1992 SC400. I've owned it for 16 yrs. I have the Factory Shop Manuals. I've been replacing "Wear Parts" since 2001.
2010, I replaced every control arm, tie rod ends, sway bar links and sway bar bushings in the front. I replaced the Transmission mount.
2014, I put on my 2nd set of HP Blue Tokico's, new sway bar links and lubed the sway bar bushings trying to quiet the "Thump". This month I replaced the rear 2 lower control arms on each side and new sway bar bushings. The "Thumping" is still happening. I have new rear upper control arms , but have not installed them. I will need to lower the subframe for clearance. Quite a bit of work for an old man. I don't want to be killed or have a heart attack trying.
I used a Rubber Mallet and pounded on my rear Strut bars/bushings and they are tight.
I wonder if my stock 25 yr old springs are shot? Are the new Tokico's not working? Are the 4 subframe bushings shot? Are the 2 Differential bushings shot?

Those that have solved the riddle, Please respond.
Thanks.

Attached Thumbnails Rear suspension Noise over bumps/cracks-img_0019.jpg   Rear suspension Noise over bumps/cracks-img_4313.jpg   Rear suspension Noise over bumps/cracks-img_4315.jpg   Rear suspension Noise over bumps/cracks-img_4316.jpg   Rear suspension Noise over bumps/cracks-img_8457.jpg  

Rear suspension Noise over bumps/cracks-sc400-parts-pic.jpg  
Old 09-27-16, 07:32 AM
t2d2
Lead Lap

Received 228 Likes on 208 Posts