IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

IS350 Trans Fluid Exchange

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-16, 03:58 PM
leoferus
Rookie

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
Default IS350 Trans Fluid Exchange

Wow, that was difficult! I just purchased a new to me, but well used, 2010 IS350 with 104k miles on the odometer. I am in the process of performing all the required preventive maintenance services such as coolant, brake fluid, power steering fluid <= joke, gear oil, spark plugs (Iridium plugs every 60k? Really? Damn!), and transmission fluid.

I am a Toyota technician and we do not have, at my shop, the appropriate fittings to exchange the fluid on these transmissions. Most, if not all of our transmissions have external cooler lines. Anyways, I found a set of fittings that would work, I used a set from a fuel pressure gauge. Once I had these set, the process is easy. Anyways, I've been reading about people wondering if the fluid exchange is required or not, well, judging by the condition of my 104k mile old fluid, YES. Absolutely do it. I believe some people have mentioned in other threads that if you drive hard you should exchange the fluid more often. I agree.

Anyways, don't be surprised if shops don't have the ability to perform this service for you. Call around. Someone should be able to do it. Even without the specific fittings someone should be able to figure it out. The access points are the fill plug and the line pressure test point.

I hope this helps someone.
The following 2 users liked this post by leoferus:
CharonRega (12-08-16), Chopschaos (12-12-20)
Old 08-27-16, 04:07 PM
isfvss
Racer

Received 139 Likes on 110 Posts

Hey 60000mile =100000kms whats the problem i have pulled them out with more miles and they are still good cheer. Have you ever changed a ISF gearbox oil.
Old 08-27-16, 04:17 PM
leoferus
Rookie

Originally Posted by isfvss