SC430 - 2nd Gen (2001-2010)

Vibration at 60mph any ideas ?

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-15, 03:47 PM
Prasha
Lead Lap

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

I have been driving with this issue for 13 years (51k miles) gave up trying to fix after first 3 years, I blamed the aftermarket 20" Enkei wheels. (now on 3rd tire replacement cycle)

This issue could be the reason for low mpg? (16mpg)
Will this create other maintenance problems over long run?
Old 04-27-15, 10:07 PM
texsexlex
Racer

Received 111 Likes on 96 Posts

Originally Posted by Prasha
I have been driving with this issue for 13 years (51k miles) gave up trying to fix after first 3 years, I blamed the aftermarket 20" Enkei wheels. (now on 3rd tire replacement cycle)

This issue could be the reason for low mpg? (16mpg)
Will this create other maintenance problems over long run?
...I don't know for sure, but my thought would be that the vibration/shaking ,could help loosen bolts,screws,etc....over a period of time. Now this is just my thought & nothing scientific to it
Old 04-27-15, 10:32 PM
bb430
Lead Lap

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

In my case, I had a steering wheel shake for a good year or so, right after I put on my 19" wheels set without hub rings, my steering rack started to leak. I have since put hub rings on the wheels and replaced the steering rack. Now, all are well and no shake at all.
I seem to remember there's a thread regarding some adjustment that can be made to take out the steering shakes. Maybe someone remembers how and what to do or a search might find the answer to the procedures.
Old 04-28-15, 05:04 AM
rudyH
Pole Position

Originally Posted by bb430
In my case, I had a steering wheel shake for a good year or so, right after I put on my 19" wheels set without hub rings, my steering rack started to leak. I have since put hub rings on the wheels and replaced the steering rack. Now, all are well and no shake at all.