SC430 - 2nd Gen (2001-2010)

Cleaning the Navigation Screen/Scratches on lcd (Merged thread)

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-02, 07:11 AM
rscharf
Driver

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Cleaning the Navigation Screen/Scratches on lcd (Merged thread)

Jennifer mentions the fingerprints on the NAV screen issue in the "Are there any other ladies in this forum?" thread. I have to admit this isn't a problem for me yet since I don't pick up my car until next week! However, I have heard of this issue reading reviews about other cars with NAV screens. I have no experience with these touch screens, so this will be my first. I'm assuming there's crosshatched wires on the screen that tell the system where exactly you're poking the screen, thus making it a difficult display screen to clean. Also, I wouldn't want to damage it during the cleaning process.

Any suggestions on a safe way to clean the NAV screen?

Thanks.

Robert

Thanks to Jennifer for reminding me that I had this same question. And, no, you're not the only one who's neurotic about fingerprints.
Old 06-05-02, 07:17 AM
2SAVVY
Lexus Champion

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

From what I read in the GS Forum from guys who have NAV in their cars.. The best thing to use is a dry eye glass cleaning cloth for your NAV window..
Old 06-05-02, 08:08 AM
LexusSC430
Lead Lap

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I myself wear white gloves and anyone who is in the car does the same.....
Old 06-05-02, 08:38 AM
2SAVVY
Lexus Champion

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

LOL.. They should sell the SC430 along with surgical gloves for us folks who hate finger prints on the wood, NAV screen ect ect..
Old 06-05-02, 01:04 PM
1NICESC430
Instructor

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

Yeah ... I wore white gloves once and the arresting officer asked me where my hat was.
Attached Images  
Old 06-05-02, 11:13 PM
Manaray
Lexus Fanatic

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

This is what I use...