SC430 - 2nd Gen (2001-2010)

High mileage & damaged paint, worth it?

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-13, 09:41 PM
hitsofmiss
Rookie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default High mileage & damaged paint, worth it?

I saw a 2003 SC 430 with 175k miles with Black interior & exterior today. The seller, 2nd owner, "appears" to be from a nice family & the asking price is $7500. I need your assistance to ensure that I'm making a right decision.

First the Good: 1.) It "seems" the car drives well but I'm not an expert by any means.
2.) Except roof & the trunk, the paint on the rest of the car is clean besides some minor dings & nicks.

Now the Bad: 1.) The rear muffler makes rattling sound
2.) The glue on the rear head rests is oozing underneath the leather & it is sliding out.
3.) The hood was replaced a few years back due to an accident when something fell off a truck
4.) Most important: The paint on the trunk & roof is faded drastically. You can also see heavy scratch marks as if someone rubbed it with sand-paper. The seller told me that it happened while the car was parked in the newly built airport parking lot during winter. When the ice melted, the salt/chemical reacted with the new concrete & fell on the roof resulting in this fading of color. He also claims that a lot of cars were impacted at that time but I was unable to google any article reporting this incidence.

Bottomline, I might have to re-paint the car. And yes, for some reason, the newly placed hood did notreact to the salt or the concrete.!

The car was maintained by local mechanics & was never taken to a Lexus dealer, even for the 90k timing belt change. The timing belt should be due in the next 5k miles. Per carfax, the car was mostly driven in South.

Anyway, since I'm not so good with the cars, I'll be taking it to the Lexus dealer for a pre-purchase inspection.:
1.) Do you think the seller is lying or hiding some key information? What else can I check?