SC430 - 2nd Gen (2001-2010)

SC430 Common Problems, if any?!?

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-08, 11:45 PM
SOARERSC
Lead Lap

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default SC430 Common Problems, if any?!?

looking to purchase a 04 SC430 with 50k miles, wondering if there is anything i should pay extra attention to? im a little new to the car and havent spent too much time lurking on the forum, any information will be highly recommended. thanks guys!!
Old 05-26-08, 12:41 AM
intdiamond
Lead Lap

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Don't opt for the RFT tires; they ride horribly.
Old 05-26-08, 08:39 AM
Tensi
Intermediate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

brake clunk.
Old 05-26-08, 09:13 AM
aquanuke
Lexus Test Driver

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts

brake clunk ??
Old 05-26-08, 09:18 AM
SOARERSC
Lead Lap

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

::shrugs::

dont know?
Old 05-26-08, 12:03 PM
Hermosa
Lexus Champion

The CD changer is the most failed item on the car.

A few other notes:

The brakes are also exceptionally weak. Consider upgrading them.

The suspension is super soft so if you are used to a sports car you might want to stiffen them up a bit.

Get rid of the runflats and have good roadside assistance coverage.
Old 05-26-08, 12:28 PM
KiPod
Lexus Test Driver

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Check the CD changer & Trunk Supports.
Old 05-27-08, 05:40 PM
Rustito
Pole Position

Jan 08 I got a 2004 SC430 PB Edition with 25,000 miles. Got from Lexus Dealer with per-owned certification (but original owner was member of this forum). I hadn't heard about CD changer issues but was interested in reading this on this thread. Mine is fine so would be interested in what others have to say about this. Sound system is great.

I love the car - it is near perfect for me but here is the stuff I have dealt with - most very minor except possible #1 (no deal breakers):