TPM Reset on SC430?

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-08, 10:26 PM
Willdief
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default TPM Reset on SC430?

Hi Folks,
I'm new to the forum. I bought a 2003 SC430 for my wife and we are both enjoying it tremendously. I'm new to the hardtop convertible world and this car is awesome. It's nice to find such a well done forum for the brand.

I have a question that has probably been dealt with before but after a search of the forums I couldn't find anything specific to an SC430: how to reset the tire pressure monitor light. I found a post for a different model that said a reset button was under the steering column but couldn't find one in the SC430. So I'm sorry if this is a rehash of an old item... I couldn't find it in the owner's manual, either.

So, could I ask if someone could tell me how to reset the TPM on the SC430?

Thanks in advance!
- Will D
Kirkland, WA
Old 01-16-08, 05:24 AM
moose66
Lexus Test Driver

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Just a little more info may help get you a response. . . . . . .such as what you mean by "reset"? Is the light constantly on? This should indicate low air pressure in at least one tire. The obvious fix for this is to add air, at least to the recommended pressure. Which is at or above 33 p.s.i. I believe. If the light doesn't go off after a quick drive, then you may have a bad sensor(s). Then you have a more difficult decision. Replace the sensors, or turn off the TPMS. I know there are posts here on how to disable the TPMS in an SC.

You are right, this is a great forum with lots of talented, helpful people with great advice. Good luck and welcome!
Old 01-16-08, 10:33 AM
Willdief
Driver School Candidate

Thanks for the reply! Yes, the light remains on even though the tire pressures have been set correctly. My understanding from poking around the forums was that there is a reset switch which basically clears the warning status generated by the sensor.