SC- 1st Gen (1992-2000)

What to do with my broke SC300

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-14, 07:07 AM
wadge22
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What to do with my broke SC300

A few months ago I bought a 93 SC300 5 speed, and within a week it was broken down and I had it towed home. Now it's sitting in my driveway, I'm not capable of fixing it, and I would like any advice on what to do with it.

I love the idea of an SC, it's a great car and the 2JZ is a great engine, but I think I need to face the reality that I'm not a mechanic and I'm not willing to spend the kind of money a project car requires. So I'd like some advice on where to go from here.

The car had some sort of a loud ticking noise. I've convinced myself it's rod knock, but really I don't know what it is. It was bad enough that I wasn't going to drive the car till it was fixed.
Then I tried to fix it. After taking off the throttle body, intake Y pipe, and valve covers, I can't get it all back together and running again. I got the valve covers back on fine, but the tangle of vacuum hoses is too much for me to figure out, even with the diagram under the hood.

I'll add here that the car has a rebuilt title, and the paint job is bad and has been sanded down to prep it to be repainted. And I don't have a garage, so any work is being done in my gravel driveway, soon to be in the cold Cleveland winter.

So here are what I consider to be my options.

-Part it out and scrap it:
I spent 1800 on the car. It has a nice interior, HID headlights plus the originals, a set of Dayton rims with decent tires, and pretty much all the parts are good . I would hope I can get at least 1500 back out of it, and say I've learned my lesson. Who knows, maybe I'll get more out of it than I spent.
Then I guess I'll go buy a Honda Civic or something, and be sad forever.

-Sell it as is: