SC- 1st Gen (1992-2000)

12 CD Changer 1993 SC300 problem

Search this Thread

Old 07-15-11, 03:02 PM
Dedik8d1
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Red face 12 CD Changer 1993 SC300 problem

My changer has been not working for months. The latest thing to happen was that the changer motor would keep "grinding" Grr, grr, grr, when the changer cover was closed. The cartridge "platform" was stuck all the way at the bottom of the changer, and I could not get it to come up by hitting the eject button. I would leave the changer cover open to stop the motor from running, as the tiny power switch was not being activated.

I read a number of threads today, and I was ready to basically go out and remove the CD player in its entirety. But I am a totally incompetent mechanic and I only have a few junky screw drivers. I could not even comprehend how to remove the player, except with a sledge hammer

So I got mad and said: What the hell, I will try anything at this point. I "faked" out the player by leaving the cover open, but I luckily found the switch which made the rollers turn, showing me where the the grinding sound was occuring, even with the cover open. So based on a few things I read today, I forced in a CD between the rollers (don't know Why I did that, I was just pissed at this point, and I bent the roller bar with a screw driver Just a little. Don't ask me why. It was something I read earlier. I was ready to blow up the entire player if necessary. HA HA

With the CD still in the machine, I put in the empty 12 slot cartridge, closed the cover, hit the EJECT button, and Wah LAH the cd in the machine rolled back into the cartridge, and I was able to remove the cartridge, as the platform rose mysteriously from the bottom to the top. I think it is WITCHCRAFT or something.