SC- 1st Gen (1992-2000)

Having some 'issues'

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-11, 12:48 PM
kdick91
Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Having some 'issues'

I used to own a Mustang and recently traded for a 2000 Trans Am with an LS1 than I have been racing for ~2 years. I love the car to death. Everything from t-tops to the black leather to, obviously, the LS1. Sadly though, when driving from Texas to Colorado (for school) in broke down and I ultimately decided to leave it at home to help preserve it immaculate condition as opposed to sitting in snow/salt. (And it would have been a big distraction) I met a girl at school who had TERRIBLE luck with cars and NO money. She had very minimal knowledge on cars. Before she met me, she got a Hyundai Accent with 145k miles for $2000 and a SLEW of issues ranging from a gutted cat to AWFUL valvetrain noise (I'm not sure how that motor was setup but sounded like a lifter was failing). I was LUCKY to sell it for her for $1200 before it had a major failure. I wasn't proud of passing this issue off to someone else, but was in a bind. She came to stay with me in TX over the summer because she had work there. Near the end of summer a 96 SC300 just popped up. I know how over-built 2JZs are and gave her the 'okay' to buy it. I was nervous though since I had NO idea how to work on a 2JZ and I know she can't afford to have any issues with the car. I changed the plugs, oil, diff and trans fluid, and any obvious gaskets and almost immediately after we got it, we set off on an 1100 mile drive to Colorado. Which, if you have ever done this drive, you will know there is NOTHING out there but a gas station every 300 miles. Roughly. So I was sweating bullets since I was only equipped with my small toolset. But, we made it here. ZERO issues still. 4 months later I changed the valve cover gasket. Almost a year from purchase, the car REFUSES to pop even a CEL. I'm floored.

Post-story actual issue (for those who don't like reading haha)