SC- 1st Gen (1992-2000)

Looking at a 92 SC...

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-10, 07:29 PM
tftimm
Pole Position

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Looking at a 92 SC...

I saw an SC on a lot the other day and today I passed by and saw that it is a 92. I think it is a 400 judging by the blackish multi-spoke Lexus OEM wheels. I don't know anything more than that. Here are my questions:

Anything specific I should look for, power stearing, water pump, etc?

Are the 300/400 more reliable, and if it is standard, other than more rare, anything additional to check for?

Anything specific to that year as it is the first year of the SC if I'm not mistaken?

How many miles are "too many" miles? I know they are bulletproof if taken care of...

I did a quick search and they seem to be going from $3-7K. I don't need another car, but the wife is in a good mood and if I can get it for a couple G's, I might just do it. I'm no mechanic, but I know a bit and usually go on instinct and I've done OK so far. I have an RX330 and love it and would like the SC for an around town fun car to drive. My family is my wife, my 1 mos. old, and myself, so I'm sure we would all fit should we want to take a highway cruise. I love to drive, highway, city, etc. and I think this would be a great car.

Thanks in advance and I look forward to your comments...I'm jealous of all you SC owners, hopefully I can join you...
Old 11-03-10, 07:40 PM
imDementeD
Lead Lap

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts

definitely a great car..most people think 150-200k is just breaking the car in..
however look for everything you can possibly find to lower the value of the car so u can get a better deal
usually with a car of this age interior isnt in great shape..cluster lights normally barely or dont work...bushings are usually worn on suspension and steering rack..
but overall just check for the usual when going to purchase a new car