SC- 1st Gen (1992-2000)

Inexperienced Snow Driver of SC 400- Questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-10, 08:05 PM
Nikolaos
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Inexperienced Snow Driver of SC 400- Questions

I have a '95 SC400. I tried driving to work a few weeks ago when it snowed and I was slipping and sliding all over the place. It was treacherous. Since the SC 400 is rear wheel drive, I read that I should put weight in the trunk. Do you guys recommend that?

Also, what's the deal with the electronics of the car? Do you guys recommend driving with the O/D switch on or off in the snow? ( what does that switch even do?)

Secondly, by the shifter, there's the little switch that says "PWR-ECT- NORM". What is that and which one do I want it to be on in the snow?

Thirdly, I want the Traction ON when it's snowing, correct? Can I leave it on all the time, what exactly does it do to create more traction?

Thanks for the help. I know, I know... I'm a complete novice with this stuff, it's embarrassing lol.

Nik
Old 02-05-10, 08:11 PM
LEXXIUM
Pole Position

Received 40 Likes on 36 Posts

You do want the traction on at all times, get some snow tires and you'll be ok.
If that doesnt work you'll need some chains
Old 02-05-10, 08:18 PM
tuterz
Racer

Received 9 Likes on 5 Posts

snow tires and weigh down the trunk.. ... traction control on at all times.. the other switch .. leave it in normal.. power is for if you are towing or something if im thinking correctly..
Old 02-05-10, 08:29 PM
nfordhk
Lead Lap

O/D On. Traction On. Normal Mode... I thought pwr was for faster acceleration it makes the peddle more sensitive but isn't ideal for "racing" because it shifts at a lower rpms?
Old 02-05-10, 08:54 PM
718murdoc
Lead Lap

Originally Posted by Nikolaos